Forums » Support

Back To Topics

Range.

• 87 posts
    March 3, 2015 3:55 PM CET

I would love to see one library for Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) support.

I've been using Python and there is bluepy, it works as a sort of python library but when I tried it it didn't work for me [but I'm no coder].

I've been using native linux support for BLE - most modern linux distributions (I use Ubuntu, by the way) include BlueZ, the Bluetooth stack for Linux. BlueZ 5.x includes support for BLE and has a command line tool ("gatttool") that talks BLE. Until I find a working library I can use (python would be cool but I'm a good copy&paster for other languages ;) ) I use a dirty trick: I use python system calls to invoke gatttool from my python scripts.

You can see some short examples at the SBrick official wiki: https://social.sbrick.com/wiki/view/pageId/20/slug/linux-client-scripts

Unfortunatly, BlueZ 5.x/gatttool is Linux-only so my scritps are useless on Android, iOS, OSX, Windows (well, for OSX/Windows one might try a VM with Linux inside and USB redirection for the Blueooth 4.0 USB dongle to be seen by the VM, don't know if latency will suffer or not).

But the Raspberry and the Mindstorms EV3 run Linux and I've used both for SBrick control.

• 28 posts
    March 3, 2015 2:31 PM CET

Ah ok Jorge, I thought you might have been part of the team. 

How would it work with linux?  Would you expect one library to use, or multiple files to expand the os?  I really know nothing about linux apart from a simple course I did about 30 years ago, simple file control and screen painting.

I have looked at the Kinect 2 which could be very interesting, but still need to have a control API in the look somewhere.  Could be extremely useful for me in time.

Thanks.

• 87 posts
    March 3, 2015 1:47 PM CET

I don't know if I said it here before but I'm not from Vengit :)